The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) was introduced on the 1st September 2008. It applies to all children under the age of 5. Every setting registered with Ofsted must comply with the same set of standards regardless of whether they are a Nursery, Playgroup or Childminder. It has created a single quality framework that brings together, the Foundation Stage, Birth to Three Matters and the National Standards for Under Eights Daycare and Childminding. When parents choose an early years setting, they can be assured that whatever their preference their child will have observations, checks, assessments and planning that support their childs' learning and development.

The Childcare Act 2006 which delivered EYFS, requires three elements for learning and development.

The Early Learning Goals
There are six areas of learning and development;

  1. Bullet PSED - Personal Social and Emotional Development

  2. Bullet CLL - Communication, Language and Literacy

  3. Bullet PSRN - Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy

  4. Bullet KUW - Knowledge and and Understanding of the World

  5. Bullet PD - Physical Development

  6. Bullet CD - Creative Development

The assessment arrangements

  1. Bullet EYFS requires a written record showing the child's progress
    within the six areas of learning and development.

  1. Bullet Surrey Early Years have produced a Learning Journey that
    childminders can follow to help them deliver EYFS.

Early Years Foundation Stage

Contact Me
Enquiry FormWelcome.htmlServices.htmlActivities.htmlChildcare_Vouchers.htmlChildcare_Vouchers.htmlNews.htmlAvailability.htmlFees.htmlContact_Me.htmlOnline_Web_Enquiry.htmlOnline_Web_Enquiry.htmlshapeimage_2_link_0shapeimage_2_link_1shapeimage_2_link_2shapeimage_2_link_3shapeimage_2_link_4shapeimage_2_link_5shapeimage_2_link_6shapeimage_2_link_7shapeimage_2_link_8shapeimage_2_link_9shapeimage_2_link_10


No. EY428417